Coverart for item
The Resource Seed to dust : life, nature, and a country garden, Marc Hamer, author of How to catch a mole

Seed to dust : life, nature, and a country garden, Marc Hamer, author of How to catch a mole

Label
Seed to dust : life, nature, and a country garden
Title
Seed to dust
Title remainder
life, nature, and a country garden
Statement of responsibility
Marc Hamer, author of How to catch a mole
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"For readers of Late Migrations and Vesper Flights From the acclaimed author of How to Catch a Mole, this meditative memoir explores the wisdom of plants, the joys of manual labor, and the natural cycle of growth and decay that runs through both the garden's life and our own. Marc Hamer has nurtured the same 12-acre garden in the Welsh countryside for over two decades. The garden is vast and intricate. It's rarely visited, and only Hamer knows of its secrets. But it's not his garden. It belongs to his wealthy and elegant employer, Miss Cashmere. But the garden does not really belong to her, either. As Hamer writes, 'Like a book, a garden belongs to everyone who sees it.' In Seed to Dust, Marc Hamer paints a beautiful portrait of the garden that 'belongs to everyone.' He describes a year in his life as a country gardener, with each chapter named for the month he's in. As he works, he muses on the unusual folklores of his beloved plants. He observes the creatures who scurry and hide from his blade or rake. And he reflects on his own life: living homeless as a young man, his loving relationship with his wife and children, and--now--feeling the effects of old age on body and mind. As the seasons change, Hamer also reflects on the changes he has observed in Miss Cashmere's life from afar: the death of her husband and the departure of her children from the stately home where she now lives alone. At the book's end, Hamer's connection to Miss Cashmere changes shape, and new insights into relationships and the beauty and brutality of nature emerge. Just like all good books and gardens, Seed to Dust is filled with equal parts life and death, beauty and decay, and every reader will find something different to admire."--
Additional physical form
Issued also in electronic format
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Biography type
contains biographical information
Cataloging source
NLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Hamer, Marc,
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
no index present
Literary form
non fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Hamer, Marc
  • Gardening
  • Gardens
  • Natural history
  • Nature
  • BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY
  • GARDENING / Essays
  • NATURE / Essays
  • Gardening
  • Gardens
  • Natural history
  • Nature
  • Wales
Label
Seed to dust : life, nature, and a country garden, Marc Hamer, author of How to catch a mole
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1192311200
Dimensions
23 cm
Extent
404 pages
Isbn
9781771647687
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
(OCoLC)1192311200
Label
Seed to dust : life, nature, and a country garden, Marc Hamer, author of How to catch a mole
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1192311200
Dimensions
23 cm
Extent
404 pages
Isbn
9781771647687
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
(OCoLC)1192311200

Library Locations

    • Ladd LibraryBorrow it
      48 Campus Ave, Lewiston, ME, 04240, US
      44.105245 -70.203443
Processing Feedback ...