Coverart for item
The Resource They don't represent us : reclaiming our democracy, Lawrence Lessig

They don't represent us : reclaiming our democracy, Lawrence Lessig

Label
They don't represent us : reclaiming our democracy
Title
They don't represent us
Title remainder
reclaiming our democracy
Statement of responsibility
Lawrence Lessig
Creator
Author
Subject
Language
eng
Summary
  • "In the vein of On Tyranny and How Democracies Die, the bestselling author of Republic, Lost argues that our democracy no longer represents us and shows that reform is both necessary and possible"--
  • Lessig believes that along many dimensions, a single flaw-- unrepresentativeness-- has detached our government from the people. Our fractured partisanship and ignorance on critical issues drive our leaders to stake out ever more extreme positions. Here he charts the way in which the fundamental institutions of our democracy, including our media, respond to narrow interests rather than to the needs and wishes of the nation's citizenry. Lessig shows that "We the people" are increasingly uninformed about the issues, while political polling reflects and normalizes our ignorance, feeding it back into the system as representative of our will. -- adapted from jacket
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
LBSOR/DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Lessig, Lawrence,
Index
index present
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Democracy
  • Representative government and representation
  • Political participation
  • Political parties
  • Polarization (Social sciences)
  • United States
  • Democracy
  • Polarization (Social sciences)
  • Political participation
  • Political parties
  • Politics and government
  • Representative government and representation
  • United States
  • Representative government and representation
Label
They don't represent us : reclaiming our democracy, Lawrence Lessig
Instantiates
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Introduction -- Flaws. The unrepresentative "them" ; The unrepresentive us -- Fixes. Fixing them ; Fixing us ; What "fixed" would get us -- Conclusion -- Appendix: Reformers
Control code
1085162815
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First edition
Extent
xv, 334 pages
Isbn
9780062945716
Lccn
2019012884
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other control number
  • 40029601293
  • 40029597681
System control number
(OCoLC)1085162815
Label
They don't represent us : reclaiming our democracy, Lawrence Lessig
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Introduction -- Flaws. The unrepresentative "them" ; The unrepresentive us -- Fixes. Fixing them ; Fixing us ; What "fixed" would get us -- Conclusion -- Appendix: Reformers
Control code
1085162815
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First edition
Extent
xv, 334 pages
Isbn
9780062945716
Lccn
2019012884
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other control number
  • 40029601293
  • 40029597681
System control number
(OCoLC)1085162815

Library Locations

    • Ladd LibraryBorrow it
      48 Campus Ave, Lewiston, ME, 04240, US
      44.105245 -70.203443
Processing Feedback ...