Coverart for item
The Resource We come to our senses : stories, Odie Lindsey

We come to our senses : stories, Odie Lindsey

Label
We come to our senses : stories
Title
We come to our senses
Title remainder
stories
Statement of responsibility
Odie Lindsey
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"For readers of Billy Lynn's Long Halftime Walk and Redeployment, a searing debut exploring the lives of veterans returning to their homes in the South. Lacerating and lyrical, We Come to Our Senses centers on men and women affected by combat directly and tangentially, and the peculiar legacies of war. The story "Evie M." is about a vet turned office clerk whose petty neuroses derail even her suicide; in "We Come to Our Senses," a hip young couple leaves the city for the sticks, trading film festivals for firearms; in "Colleen" a woman redeploys to her Mississippi hometown, and confronts the superior who abused her at war; and in "11/19/98" a couple obsesses over sitcoms and retail catalogs, extracting joy and deeper meaning. The story "Hers" is about the sexual politics of a combat zone" --
Member of
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Lindsey, Odie,
Index
no index present
Literary form
short stories
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Veterans
  • Veterans
  • Southern States
  • Southern States
Label
We come to our senses : stories, Odie Lindsey
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Evie M. -- Darla -- So bored in Nashville -- Chicks -- Clean -- They -- Bird (on back) -- In the alley that runs behind my rotted clapboard apartment house there are sick cats -- Colleen -- 11/19/98 -- Pickle -- Wall -- We come to our senses -- D. Garcia brings the war -- Hers
Control code
921868902
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition
Extent
208 pages
Isbn
9780393249606
Lccn
2016008755
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
System control number
(OCoLC)921868902
Label
We come to our senses : stories, Odie Lindsey
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Evie M. -- Darla -- So bored in Nashville -- Chicks -- Clean -- They -- Bird (on back) -- In the alley that runs behind my rotted clapboard apartment house there are sick cats -- Colleen -- 11/19/98 -- Pickle -- Wall -- We come to our senses -- D. Garcia brings the war -- Hers
Control code
921868902
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition
Extent
208 pages
Isbn
9780393249606
Lccn
2016008755
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
System control number
(OCoLC)921868902

Library Locations

    • Ladd LibraryBorrow it
      48 Campus Ave, Lewiston, ME, 04240, US
      44.105245 -70.203443
Processing Feedback ...